Rev. Robert McCarthy

Rev. Robert McCarthy was born and raised in North Sydney, Cape Breton.  He received his BA from St. Francis Xavier University in 1997 and his M. Div from the Atlantic School of Theology in 2002.  Robert was ordained by Maritime Conference in Truro, NS in 2002 and was settled on the Glassville / Juniper Pastoral Charge where he served until 2006.  In 2006 Robert accepted a call to the Annapolis / Granville Pastoral Charge in Annapolis Royal, NS where he served until July 2012.  Robert became our minister in August of 2012 accepting a call to our congregation.       


Our Minister Emeritus:  Rev. Jack Spencer

The congregation voted unanimously to confer the honorary title of Minister Emeritus to the Rev. Jack Spencer at the annual meeting held in January 2016.  This honour was accepted and celebrated with a special service on April 10th 2016.  The congregation honored Jack’s 33 years of ministry and his ongoing commitment to Kensington United Church 

Jack Spencer was born and raised in Halifax, NS. He attended school and university there graduating from Dalhousie University in 1968 with a BA and from Pine Hill Divinity Hall in 1971 with a M. Div. degree. He was ordained by the Maritime Conference of the United Church of Canada in May of 1971 and settled in the Souris and Bay Fortune Congregations in July of 1971. He remained there until he was called to the Kensington Pastoral Charge on July 1, 1979 and served there until his retirement on June 30, 2012.

He and his wife Donna continue to live in Kensington. They have two sons, Jeff and his wife Angela who also live in Kensington with their children Bethany & Adam, and Stephen who lives in Riverview, NB with his sons Bryan and Brent.

Jack has been involved in the wider church and has held many offices at the Presbytery, Conference and General Council levels of the United Church of Canada.

Ministers since church union (1925)

Rev. Dr. J. R. Saint: 1926-1931

Rev. W. S. Loring: 1931-1935

Rev. B. C. Salter: 1935-1940

Rev. A. D. Sterling: 1940-1944

Rev. Lewis M. Murray: 1944-1965

Rev. Gordon MacBeth: 1965-1969

Rev. Boyce Elliott: 1969-1974

Rev. Donald C. Boothroyd: 1974-1979

Rev. Jack R. Spencer: 1979 - 2012

Rev. Robert McCarthy: 2012 - present